Weekly Photo Challenge: On the Way

This week I’m taking my inspiration from the Daily Post weekly photo challenge.  One of the things I love most about photography is that it helps me pay attention to all I see…not necessarily at my destination (physical, mental, or emotional), but all along the way.

I happened to be down near Old Town the other day…and stopped for a few minutes at Presidio Park.  Apparently it is a destination of choice for prom photos…there were lots of teenagers dressed in fancy attire.  It was fun to watch them, but I focused my camera on the historic building and the lighting instead of photographing the kids.

IMG_5645

And there is nothing like an old window to inspire an attempt at a window selfie.  It’s certainly not spectacular in the selfie category…but the window is interesting.

IMG_5649

And anyone who reads my blog knows how much I love a great walk on the beach.  In spite of no sunshine in sight, there are always interesting things to see on a beach walk.  I’m always trying a new angle on a pier shot…this one tries to get under and over at the same time.

IMG_5653

I take lots of photos of seagulls and other seabirds.  I love the way the brilliant blue of the pier railing helps focus attention on the seagull…who was quite patient as I took a few shots.

IMG_5663

Last night was our annual outing with the third graders in our class.  We took them rock climbing–it’s such fun to watch them challenge themselves higher and higher up the walls of the climbing gym.  Even the most reticent climbers find their confidence…and beam as they do a little better on each trial.  Afterwards we headed to a burger joint nearby for a shared dinner.  Our students were fascinated by the pool table as they waited for their burgers…and I couldn’t resist playing around with this shot using the app Waterlogue to capture their curiosity and camaraderie.  Learning isn’t confined to the classroom for these kids!

Preset Style = Bold Format = 6" (Medium) Format Margin = Small Format Border = Sm. Rounded Drawing = #2 Pencil Drawing Weight = Heavy Drawing Detail = Medium Paint = High Contrast Paint Lightness = Normal Paint Intensity = More Water = Tap Water Water Edges = Blurry Water Bleed = Average Brush = Fine Detail Brush Focus = Everything Brush Spacing = Medium Paper = Watercolor Paper Texture = Medium Paper Shading = Medium Options Faces = Enhance Faces

So what do capture with your camera as you’re on the way to somewhere else?  What catches your eye before you reach your destination?

You can post your photo alone or along with some words: commentary, a story, a poem…maybe even a song! I love to study the photographs that others’ take and think about how I can use a technique, an angle, or their inspiration to try something new in my own photography. (I love a great mentor text…or mentor photo, in this case!)

I share my photography and writing on social media. You can find me on Instagram and Twitter using @kd0602. If you share your photos and writing on social media too, please let me know so I can follow and see what you are doing. To help our Weekly Photo community find each other, use the hashtag #ontheway for this week and include @nwpianthology in your post.

Keep your eyes peeled for interesting things to photograph as your are on your way to your destination.  I can’t wait to see what you find through your lens!

Leave a comment