An Unusual Point of View

Yesterday I wrote a post about playing with frames where I was looking for different ways to photograph the ordinary in my life.  This evening I headed off to the beach (again) to cool off and enjoy the sunset.  And with my iPhone camera in hand I was again looking for new ways to explore the beach photographically.

When I sat down to write this post, I wondered about my topic.  Would I write about my school day?  Would I participate in Five Minute Friday and write about red?  I took a quick look at my blog reader and saw today’s Friday Weekly Photo Challenge on The Daily Post…and discovered that this week’s challenge is just what I have been working at!  The challenge is titled, “An Unusual Point of View” and talks about trying new ways to take photos of ordinary (or popular) views.

Back to the beach.  The tide was ultra low when we arrived and the seabirds were feasting in the wet sand.  I love sandpipers and their gently curved beaks that poke deep in the wet sand pulling up tiny shellfish and crabs.  I was stalking this pair as they searched the shore and shot this photo, capturing the reflection of the cliffs in the wet sand.  Can you spot my pair of sandpipers?

photo-2

As the sun moved lower on the horizon, I took a few shots and then felt that they were too much like the sunset photos I took last week.  How could I frame them differently?  I noticed that through my sunglasses the view looks different than it does when I look without them.  I decided to use my sunglasses as both a frame and filter for a picture of the setting sun.

photo-3

And then as the sun sat down into the water, I tried using the people in the water as features of my photos.  I tried some fishermen, some surfers…and then captured this pair which I am titling, Into the Sunset.

photo-1

I love stretching and trying out new strategies.  The experimentation adds a new dimension to my view of the world and has me alert to novel opportunities for photos.  I look forward to seeing what others produce with their unusual points of view.  What does an unusual point of view do to your craft?

13 thoughts on “An Unusual Point of View

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge Garden Video | 2013 Weekly Photo Challenge Blog

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: An Unusual Point of View (1) | Bastet and Sekhmet

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Unusual POV (Paris Notre Dame) | What's (in) the picture?

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: An Unusual POV | Alastair's Blog

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: An Unusual POV, #2: Lines: Legacy Transmission | Rob's Surf Report

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: An Unusual Point of View (2) | Bastet and Sekhmet

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: An Unusual POV, #3: Lost in the Woods | Rob's Surf Report

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: An Unusual Point of View (3) | Bastet and Sekhmet

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: An Unusual POV, #4: Proud o’ my wheels | Rob's Surf Report

  10. mineral rich water

    Today, I went to the beach front with my children. I found a sea shell and
    gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.”
    She placed the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is entirely off
    topic but I had to tell someone!

    Reply
  11. Pingback: WB Yeats in Sligo, Ireland | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a comment