Weekly Photo Challenge: Color

Here’s the week 4 Weekly Photo Challenge prompt for the NWP iAnthology!  (Here are weeks 123, and 4 if you want to look back.)

Every year Pantone, a company that describes itself as the authority on color, selects a color of the year.  This year’s color is radiant orchid (it’s a pinkish purple), last year’s was emerald.  The color they select shows up in fashion, interior design, and other places that color matters.

I notice that I am drawn to certain colors in my photography.  In the warm fall, I couldn’t resist the oranges and yellows of the sunset over the ocean.  I took many, many photos trying to capture the intensity of color as the sun sunk into the sea.

photo

And I love trying to capture the colors in flower petals.  Using my macro lens, I got a close look at this orchid…and the beauty of the purples and the contrasting oranges.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

So this week’s photo challenge is to explore color. What colors are calling to you?  Do you have a color of the year like the Pantone company?  Share a photo that represents your exploration of color.  Post either the photo alone or along with writing inspired by the photo.  I also invite you to use others’ photos as inspiration for your own writing and photography.  I often use another photographer’s image as “mentor text” for my own photography, trying to capture some element in my own way.

I like to share my images and writing on social media…and I invite you to share yours widely too. (You might consider Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Google+) Use the hashtag #intersection and include @nwpianthology to make it easy for us to find and enjoy.  You can find me on Twitter and Instagram @kd0602.  I’d love to follow you if you share your handle.

You can also share your photos and writing by linking to this blog post or sharing in the comment section below.  I am excited to see how you express color through your lens!

7 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Color

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflection | Thinking Through My Lens

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: STEM | Thinking Through My Lens

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Culture | Thinking Through My Lens

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Round | Thinking Through My Lens

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Spring | Thinking Through My Lens

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Furry Friends | Thinking Through My Lens

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge 12: Skyline | Thinking Through My Lens

Leave a Reply

