Weekly Photo Challenge: My Place

Some colleagues over at the National Writing Project iAnthology asked me if I would be willing to post weekly photo challenge prompts for their site.  Personally, I enjoy weekly photo challenges and find that they also tend to prompt writing for me as well.  I often participate in the weekly photo challenge at the Daily Post…I love that I have an entire week to figure out how to respond to the prompt, visually and/or in writing…and I love seeing the different ways that each prompt is interpreted.

So along with posting this challenge over at the iAnthology, I thought I would also post it here on my blog so others could participate.  Here’s my first weekly photo challenge prompt:

Photography gives me the opportunity to explore the places I see everyday and come to know them in new ways.  Sometimes I zoom in and discover the beauty of something I had walked by hundreds of times before or just pause and appreciate something I had otherwise taken for granted.  Once in while, a change in the weather or other conditions paints my place and when I take the time to look through the lens, I see what on the surface seems to be an annoyance as an opportunity to reflect, learn, and appreciate another layer of my place.

Here’s a photo I recently took on a stormy day (a relatively rare occurrence) in my place.  Rain makes the roads crazy (even just a light drizzle) and people grumpy, but taking photographs has encouraged me to seek out the beauty and wonder that stormy days have to offer.

photo

Share a photo of your place…either the photo alone or do some writing inspired by the photo.  And feel free to be inspired by the photos of others…and either write based on another’s photo or shoot another photograph of your place based on the inspiration of someone else’s photo.

If you also share on other social media (Twitter, Facebook, google+, Instagram), use the hashtag #myplace and include @nwpianthology to make it easy for us to find and enjoy!  You can find me @kd0602.  Be sure to share your media handles too!

And if you are reading this on my blog, feel free to share your photo/response by either linking your photo or your blog to the comment section below.  I am excited to see “your place” through your lens!

12 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: My Place

  1. Pingback: Photos of the Week- What was your favorite? | I see beauty all around by rob paine

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Frames | Thinking Through My Lens

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Playing with Light | Thinking Through My Lens

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Intersections | Thinking Through My Lens

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Color | Thinking Through My Lens

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflection | Thinking Through My Lens

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: STEM | Thinking Through My Lens

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Culture | Thinking Through My Lens

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Round | Thinking Through My Lens

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Spring | Thinking Through My Lens

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Furry Friends | Thinking Through My Lens

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge 12: Skyline | Thinking Through My Lens

Leave a Reply

